Case Study Thomas Magnete

Automobile supplier Thomas has relied on cronetwork MES for process data collection since 2014, displacing Microsoft Excel as their primary software tool. The many effects extend from saving time once spent for data input to accruing new knowledge that drives the optimization of production processes.

“Today, at our shift meetings we view real-time data and set measures on the basis of these. This aspect has also contributed significantly to improving efficiency.”          
Marcel Sanchez-Martin
Head of Lean Management & Business Process Management at Thomas Magnete GmbH

Best optimization results thanks to cronetwork

Time savings in data acquisition

Transparency on production lines

Improved

data quality

Meaningful real-time information

Optimization of production processes

Increased
efficiency

Thomas Magnete increases efficiency with
automatic process data collection

Until some 60 years ago, a century of iron ore mining occurred at the site of the modern plant of Thomas Magnete GmbH. Except for some street names, there is not much to remind us of the San Fernando mine site, where now 650 employees of Thomas produce electromagnetically driven products and systems for fluid control. More than 40 production lines produce the innovative pumps, valves, control systems, etc. for diverse application domains on the automotive sector as well as for mobile hydraulics and medical applications, likewise in Herdorf in the Rhineland-Palatinate region of Germany.

 

Goal: Transparency on the production lines

To enable managing the diverse production areas in daily operation as efficiently as possible, already in 2012 the company introduced OEE metrics in the realm of shop floor management. Bernd Brass, Director of Production Service, Supply Chain Management & Operations at Thomas, describes the situation then: “We wanted to introduce transparency in our production lines in order to better understand processes and optimize them. Therefore we began to collect classical production metrics such as output and scrap manually via production monitoring sheets.” These measures provided initial insights, and Brass and his team could begin to optimize internal processes.

However, the limits of the new method soon emerged. In order to achieve meaningful information, employees manually collected production data on an hourly basis. Further, they needed to transfer the data to Microsoft Excel in order to evaluate and discuss these on the following day. Although added value was apparent, the necessary effort was simply too great. Furthermore, there was no access to data in real time, and the data were also inadequate in terms of quality, meaningfulness and correctness.

 

Searching for the right MES partner

“The original method gave us important insights, but we soon encountered various limits. We needed to be able to automatically collect and evaluate process data. The logical consequence was the introduction of an MES, including machine data collection,” reports Bernd Brass regarding the decision to vest in software-supported production optimization.

Brass explains the Thomas decision for cronetwork MES by Industrie Informatik based on multiple factors: “We were looking for a vendor who could – in the long range – provide the overall MES service spectrum instead of specializing in only some subdomain. Further, we needed a ready standard interface to our current ERP system, customized evaluation options, and an optimal release policy. All this pointed to Industrie Informatik, which provided the maximum in investment security.”

Currently we have 36 production lines equipped with cronetwork terminals where operators report operation feedbacks, enter disruption reasons, and access important data. Marcel Sanchez-Martin is responsible for lean management and business process management at Thomas; he actively supported the introduction of cronetwork MES: “After a one-year pilot phase on three lines, within two years we equipped 30 additional lines with machine data collection and plant data collection. In the pilot phase we learned a great deal and carried our experience into subsequent projects. Today, when we operationalize a new line, it is automatically connected to cronetwork machine data collection.”

 

The right data at the right time and place

The company enjoys many positive effects. In addition to massive time savings for production data collection, above all the currency and quality of data play an important role. Here not only are machine stops immediately detectable; the respective operators also receive important information about disruption reasons, and this information in turn can be used for further optimization measures. Furthermore, daily shift meetings with team leaders, foremen, schedulers and quality staff were previously based on data that were at least a day old; their analysis was static and thus difficult to evaluate. “Today, at our shift meetings we view real-time data and set measures on the basis of these. This aspect has also contributed significantly to improving efficiency. Furthermore, we can extract exactly the data that we need now, which gives us a new form of dynamics in production,” Marcel Sanchez-Martin describes the added value of the installation.

 

Heightened efficiency and resource development create new jobs

To ensure the success of the MES project, Thomas strived from the start to win the acceptance of its employees. Already in early planning phases, the workers council was involved in considerations. In addition, there were info events on a small scale so that employees could openly express their reservations and questions.

Introduction of the project in stages also contributed to reducing trepidation. “Implementation of cronetwork MES and the improved efficiency that resulted created new resources. This enables us to better manage the strong growth of our company,” summarizes Bernd Brass with satisfaction.

photos: © Thomas Magnete GmbH

Products:
electromagnetic and fluid actuator systems for the automotive and mobile hydraulics industries as well as medical technology equipment

Staff:
650

cronetwork modules:
plant data collection, machine data collection, process data collection, incentive pay, work center monitor, PIDO, KPI, OPC

„Implementation of cronetwork MES and the improved efficiency that resulted created new resources.
This enables us to better manage the strong growth of our company.”

 

Bernd Brass

Director of Production Service, Supply Chain Management & Operations at Thomas Magnete GmbH

Case Study Thomas Magnete

Seit 2014 setzt Automobilzulieferer Thomas bei der Prozess­datenerfassung auf cronetwork MES und löste damit Microsoft Excel als führendes Softwaretool ab. Die daraus resultierenden Effekte sind vielseitig und erstrecken sich von der Zeitersparnis bei der Dateneingabe bis hin zu neuen Erkenntnissen, die die Optimierung der Produktionsprozesse vorantreiben.

“Heute schauen wir bei unseren Schichtbesprechungen auf Echzeit-Daten. Auch dieser Aspekt hat wesentlich zur Effizienzsteigerung beigetragen.”          
Marcel Sanchez-Martin
Leiter Lean & Geschäftsprozessmanagement bei Thomas Magnete GmbH

Beste Optimierungsergebnisse dank cronetwork

Zeitersparnis bei der Datenerfassung

Transparenz an Fertigungslinien

Steigerung der Datenqualität

aussagekräftige Echtzeitinformationen

Optimierung der Produktionsprozesse

Steigerung der Effizienz

Thomas Magnete steigert Effizienz mit automatischer Prozessdatenerfassung

Wo heute das moderne Betriebsgelände der Thomas Magnete GmbH steht, wurde bis vor rund 60 Jahren, über ein Jahrhundert hinweg, aktiv Erz abgebaut. Bis auf den Straßennamen erinnert nicht mehr viel an das Bergwerk San Fernando, auf dessen Fläche Thomas nun täglich mit 650 Mitarbeitern elektro-magnetisch angetriebene Produkte und Systeme zur Flüssigkeitssteuerung fertigt. Auf derzeit mehr als 40 Linien entstehen die innovativen Pumpen, Ventile, Regelsysteme usw. für verschiedenste Anwendungsgebiete im Automobilbereich – nicht zu vergessen die Bereiche Mobilhydraulik und Medizinprodukte, die ebenfalls im rheinland-pfälzischen Herdorf beheimatet sind.

 

Zielsetzung: Transparenz an den Fertigungslinien

Um die unterschiedlichen Fertigungsbereiche in ihrem täglichen Betrieb so effizient wie möglich gestalten zu können, wurden bereits 2012 OEE-Kennzahlen im Rahmen des Shopfloor-Managements eingeführt. Bernd Brass, Director Production Service, Supply Chain Management & Operations bei Thomas, beschreibt die damalige Situation: „Wir wollten Transparenz in die Fertigungslinien bringen, um unsere Abläufe noch besser verstehen und optimieren zu können. Also fingen wir an, klassische Fertigungskennzahlen wie Gutmenge und Ausschuss manuell mittels Produktionsverfolgungsblättern zu erfassen.“ Die Maßnahmen zogen erste Erkenntnisse nach sich und Brass und sein Team konnten beginnen, die internen Abläufe und Prozesse zu optimieren.

Doch schon bald offenbarten sich auch die Schwächen der neuen Methode. Um zu aussagekräftigen Informationen zu kommen, mussten die Fertigungsdaten im Stundentakt händisch von den Mitarbeitern erfasst werden. Zudem war eine Übertragung der Informationen in Microsoft Excel notwendig, um am Folgetag die Ergebnisse analysieren und besprechen zu können. Mehrwerte waren zwar erkennbar, doch der dafür notwendige Aufwand war einfach zu hoch. Hinzu kam, dass man nicht auf Informationen in Echtzeit zugreifen konnte und die Daten zudem in Qualität, Aussagekraft und Korrektheit mangelhaft waren.

 

Auf der Suche nach dem richtigen MES-Partner

„Wir konnten mit der ursprünglichen Methode wichtige Erkenntnisse gewinnen, stießen jedoch schon bald an verschiedene Grenzen. Prozessdaten sollten künftig automatisch erfasst und Ad-Hoc ausgewertet werden können. Logische Konsequenz war die Einführung eines MES samt Maschinendatenerfassung“, beschreibt Bernd Brass die Entscheidung, künftig auf softwaregestützte Fertigungsoptimierung zu setzen.

Dass Thomas sich damals für cronetwork MES von Industrie Informatik entschied, liegt laut Brass in mehreren Tatsachen begründet: „Wir waren auf der Suche nach einem Anbieter, der – auf lange Sicht – das gesamte MES-Leistungsspektrum abbilden kann und sich nicht nur auf einen Teilbereich spezialisiert hat. Hinzu kamen eine vorbereitete Standardschnittstelle zu unserem derzeitigen ERP-System, individuelle Auswertemöglichkeiten und die optimale Releasepolitik von Industrie Informatik, die uns maximale Investitionssicherheit gewährleistet.“

Derzeit sind 36 Fertigungslinien mit cronetwork-Terminals ausgestattet, an denen die Mitarbeiter Arbeitsgänge melden, Störgründe erfassen und auf wichtige Informationen zugreifen können. Marcel Sanchez-Martin ist bei Thomas für Lean- und Geschäftsprozessmanagement verantwortlich und hat die Einführung von cronetwork MES aktiv unterstützt: „Nach einer einjährigen Pilotphase an drei Anlagen statteten wir innerhalb von zwei Jahren 30 weitere Linien mit Maschinen- und Betriebsdatenerfassung aus. Wir konnten in dieser Zeit viel dazulernen und Erfahrungen für Folgeprojekte mitnehmen. Wenn wir heute eine neue Anlage in Betrieb nehmen, wird diese automatisch an die cronetwork Maschinendatenerfassung angebunden.“

 

Die richtigen Daten zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort

Die positiven Effekte sind vielseitig für das Unternehmen. Neben der massiven Zeiteinsparung bei der Produktionsdatenerfassung spielen vor allem auch deren Aktualität und Qualität eine wichtige Rolle. So sind Maschinenstillstände jetzt nicht nur sofort erkennbar. Die zuständigen Mitarbeiter erhalten zudem auch wichtige Informationen zu Störgründen, welche wiederum für weitere Optimierungsmaßnahmen herangezogen werden. Auch die täglichen Schichtbesprechungen mit Teamleitern, Vorarbeitern, Disponenten und Qualitätsmitarbeitern basierten in der Vergangenheit auf Daten, die mindestens einen Tag alt waren. Zudem waren die Auswertungen statisch und somit nur schwer zu beurteilen. „Heute schauen wir bei unseren Schichtbesprechungen auf Echtzeit-Daten, auf deren Basis wir unsere Maßnahmen setzen. Auch dieser Aspekt hat wesentlich zur Effizienzsteigerung beigetragen. Außerdem können wir uns genau die Informationen holen, die wir gerade brauchen, was uns eine neue Form der Dynamik in der Fertigung ermöglicht“, beschreibt Marcel Sanchez-Martin die Mehrwerte der Installation.

 

Effizienzsteigerung und Ressourcenaufbau schaffen neue Arbeitsplätze

Damit das MES-Projekt zu einem Erfolg werden konnte, bemühte sich Thomas von Beginn an um die Akzeptanz bei den Mitarbeitern. Der Betriebsrat wurde bereits in frühen Planungsphasen in die Überlegungen miteinbezogen. Zudem gab es Infoveranstaltungen in kleinen Runden, sodass Mitarbeiter dort auch ihre Bedenken und Fragen offen kundtun konnten. Der etappenweise Start in das Projekt tat sein Übriges um auch etwaige Berührungsängste abzubauen.

„Durch die Implementierung von cronetwork MES und die dadurch gestiegene Effizienz konnten neue Ressourcen geschaffen werden. So können wir das starke Wachstum unseres Unternehmens besser bewältigen“, resümiert Bernd Brass zufrieden.

 

Bilder: © Thomas Magnete GmbH

Produkte:
elektromagnetische und fluidische Aktoriksysteme für die Automotive- und die Mobilhydraulik-Industrie sowie Geräte für die Medizintechnik

Mitarbeiteranzahl:
650

cronetwork Module:
Betriebsdaten, Maschinendaten, Prozessdaten, Leistungsabrechnung, Arbeitsplatzmonitor, PIDO, KPI, OPC

“Durch die Implementierung von cronetwork MES und die dadurch gestiegene Effizienz konnten neue Ressourcen geschaffen werden. So können wir das starke Wachstum unseres Unternehmens besser bewältigen.”

 

Bernd Brass

Director Production Service, Supply Chain Management & Operations bei Thomas Magnete GmbH