Case Study STIHL Tirol

People all over the world immediately associate the glowing STIHL orange with motorized garden and forestry equipment. Since 1981, STIHL Tirol GmbH, formerly under the name VIKING, has been producing chain saws, lawn mowers, mowing robots, riding mowers, garden shredders, etc. in front of a picturesque mountain backdrop.

“The utmost quality of our products is an essential factor for the success of our company. We want to ensure this in the future as well.”      
DI (FH) Harald Ganster
Department Consultant, Shop Floor IT, STIHL Tirol GmbH

Best optimization results thanks to cronetwork

Reduction of manual effort

Transparency of production processes

Meaningful real-time information

Release-ready standard interfaces

Optimization of material stock

Reduction of setup times

Transparency for workers and management at STIHL Tirol

The innovative and world-famous products are currently manufactured by approx. 600 employees on 23 assembly lines. Recently the location was extended by 20,000 m² additional floor space. To ensure the success of the company, Stihl relies among other things on digitalization measures in the production area and fully trusts in cronetwork MES. This has so far resulted in powerful individual part traceability, transparent visualization of production progress, and quality data acquisition to ensure the associated self-imposed standards.

 

Searching for the right MES

DI (FH) Harald Ganster is a departmental consultant for shop floor IT at STIHL Tirol and is responsible for all production-related hardware and software systems. He describes his company’s core requirements for a new MES at the time: “The goal then was to optimize our manufacturing processes so that comprehensive information about the produced devices was automatically recorded. In addition, we wanted to achieve more transparency for further optimization measures. With 23 assembly lines and a high degree of product diversification, an MES must also flexibly adapt to production conditions. At the time, we had a solution that did not meet these and other requirements, and so we set out on a search.” With the experience and prerequisites already gathered, such as maximum flexibility, release security and transparent cost structuring, we finally found what we were looking for at the Upper Austrian MES provider Industrie Informatik. Ganster commented on this decision: “Industrie Informatik convinced us first and foremost with its unlimited connectivity within the system landscape, including a certified SAP® standard interface and QlikView connector. In addition, we were convinced by the comprehensive parameterization within the cronetwork MES standard. This high flexibility made the difference”.

 

First step: process data collection

In 2016 the pilot operation with cronetwork started on the first two of 23 assembly lines. The complete upgrade was then carried out step by step. In practical operation, there was even less need for optimization, which was already realized in the course of the rollout. “On the assembly lines, we assemble our equipment from several components in group work. cronetwork MES supports us in the acquisition and processing of important process data. A good example of this is the torque values with which a blade is attached to the lawnmower. On the one hand, we check the correct assembly at the workplace and, on the other hand, we can provide our customers with information at any time on important production parameters,” says Ganster, describing the added value of process data acquisition.

Further applications have arisen over the years, including the associated traceability of individual parts. Today, for example, serial numbers of battery, charger and machine are merged in battery devices. This enables STIHL Tirol to provide full transparency on its products from a wide variety of angles.

The classic benefits of cronetwork Machine Data and Plant Data acquisition are almost a matter of course. Automatic quantity counting, including feedback to SAP®, gives the foreman and employees on the assembly line the necessary vision for a wide range of optimization measures. The interim storage system within production could be improved in such a way that inventories on the lines can be kept as low as possible today, while the required material is still available at the right place at all times.

 

Automated feedback reduces human effort

Ganster continues: “It was also important for us to largely relieve our foremen of manual terminal operation and to create time and space for their core tasks. For example, if a disruption occurs on a line today, the system recognizes this and automatically switches to disruption mode. Previously, the foreman had to report this manually. Today, the foreman can already take care of the basic troubleshooting during this time. The same applies to the notification of follow-up orders. As soon as the current order is delivered, the subsequent order is automatically reported, and the line switches to setup and only changes status again when the first unit of the subsequent order is packed. During this time, the employee fully handles his core tasks, such as set-up and continuation of assembly work.”

 

Transparency for workers and management

At STIHL Tirol, however, the newly gained transparency through the acquisition of machine, plant and process data was intended to benefit not only management but also employees on the shop floor. Screens (Andon boards) on each assembly line serve as a source of information. “Whereas the information used to consist of a conglomerate of six different sources with obsolete data, cronetwork Portal technology now enables us to generate individual dashboards and provide information collected from cronetwork MES in near real time,” says Ganster, who continues: “Thanks to information on order progress, follow-up orders, hourly output, and target and actual quantities, our employees can better prepare for set-up work and material procurement, which results in shorter set-up times, among other things. In addition, the assembly employees also keep an eye on their current performance indicator for each assembly line. This is one of the influencing factors for bonus calculation, which is carried out 100% with data from cronetwork MES. Consequently, the employees also strive for good output and quality.” Management has long since internalized the potential of cronetwork MES and uses it primarily for evaluations and regular reports over various time horizons.

 

Quality data collection in the production process

The STIHL brand has always stood for high-quality forestry and gardening equipment, and the demands of its users are correspondingly high. A comprehensive collection of quality data was another requirement for cronetwork MES. “The degree of coverage of our requirements by the cronetwork standard was already very high. In the area of quality data acquisition, however, work still had to be put into its further development. We ourselves have already benefited from developments by other IT industry customers, as these have been incorporated into the standard. This give and take principle of the cronetwork user community convinced us absolutely,” Ganster describes the decision to invest in development here.

The system and processing of the inspection specifications is now 100% integrated in cronetwork MES. For each order and shift, one device is randomly removed and tested in the STIHL internal product audit. Functional, optical, safety and other factors are taken into account and result in a group-wide uniform quality index. Ganster: “The utmost quality of our products is an essential factor for the success of our company. We want to ensure this in the future as well.”

 

Conclusion and outlook

The growth and increasing requirements at STIHL Tirol have led to a call for a strong and above all flexible MES solution. With Industrie Informatik they now have a partner who can react quickly and flexibly to the constantly changing requirements. cronetwork process data acquisition and individual part traceability contribute in many ways to transparency and quality assurance at STIHL Tirol. In addition, the company benefits fully from the standard philosophy and release policy of the Austrian MES provider. This also paves the way for further cooperation with Industrie Informatik.

 

photos: © STIHL Tirol GmbH

Products:
lawn mowers, mowing robots, riding mowers, garden shredders, tillers and scarifiers, battery-powered and electric products

Staff:
600

cronetwork modules:
plant data, machine data,
time & attendance, work center monitor, PIDO,
OPC, SAP® connector, Qlik View connector

“Thanks to information on order progress, follow-up orders, hourly output, and target and actual quantities, our employees can better prepare for set-up work and material procurement, which results in shorter set-up times, among other things.”

 

DI (FH) Harald Ganster

Department Consultant, Shop Floor IT, STIHL Tirol GmbH

Case Study STIHL Tirol

Menschen auf der ganzen Welt bringen das leuchtende STIHL Orange sofort mit motorbetriebenen Garten- und Forstgeräten in Verbindung! Seit 1981 produziert die STIHL Tirol GmbH – ehemals unter dem Namen VIKING – vor malerischer Bergkulisse Rasenmäher, Mähroboter, Aufsitzmäher, Garten-Häcksler & Co.

“Höchste Qualität unserer Produkte ist ein wesentlicher Faktor für unseren Unternehmenserfolg. Das wollen wir auch in Zukunft sicherstellen.”      
DI (FH) Harald Ganster
Abteilungsreferent Shopfloor IT, STIHL Tirol GmbH

Beste Optimierungsergebnisse dank cronetwork

Reduktion des manuellen Aufwands

Transparenz des
Fertigungsgeschehens

aussagekräftige Echtzeitinformationen

releasefähige Standardschnittstellen

Optimierung des Materialbestands

Reduzierung von Rüstzeiten

Transparenz für Mitarbeiter und Management bei STIHL Tirol

An aktuell 23 Montagelinien werden die innovativen und weltbekannten Produkte von ca. 600 Mitarbeitern gefertigt. Erst kürzlich ist zudem der Standort um 20.000 m² zusätzliche Nutzfläche erweitert worden. Zur Absicherung des Unternehmenserfolges setzt man unter anderem auf Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen im Fertigungsbereich und vertraut dabei voll auf cronetwork MES. Einzelteilrückverfolgung, transparente Visualisierung von Fertigungsfortschritten und Qualitätsdatenerfassung zur Sicherstellung der damit verbundenen, selbstauferlegten Standards, sind die bereits realisierten cronetwork Ausbaustufen.

 

Auf der Suche nach dem richtigen MES

DI (FH) Harald Ganster ist als Abteilungsreferent für die Shopfloor IT bei STIHL Tirol unter anderem für alle fertigungsnahen Hard- und Softwaresysteme verantwortlich. Er beschreibt die damaligen Kernanforderungen seines Unternehmens an ein neues MES: „Ziel war es damals, unsere Fertigungsprozesse dahingehend zu optimieren, dass automatisch umfangreiche Informationen zu den produzierten Geräten erfasst werden. Zudem wollten wir mehr Transparenz für weitere Optimierungsmaßnahmen erreichen. Bei 23 Montagelinien und hoher Produktdiversifikation ist es zudem notwendig, dass ein MES flexibel an die Gegebenheiten in der Fertigung anpassbar ist. Wir setzten damals auf eine Lösung, die diesen und anderen Anforderungen nicht gerecht wurde und so machten wir uns auf die Suche.“ Mit den bereits gesammelten Erfahrungen und Voraussetzungen wie maximaler Flexibilität, Releasesicherheit und transparenter Kostengestaltung wurde man schlussendlich beim oberösterreichischen MES-Anbieter Industrie Informatik fündig. Ganster zu dieser Entscheidung: „Industrie Informatik überzeugte allen voran mit uneingeschränkter Konnektivität innerhalb der Systemlandschaft – zertifizierte SAP®-Standardschnittstelle und QlikView-Connector inklusive. Darüber hinaus waren wir von der umfassenden Parametrierbarkeit innerhalb des Standards von cronetwork MES überzeugt. Diese Flexibilität hat den Unterschied ausgemacht.“

 

Erster Schritt: Prozessdatenerfassung

2016 startete dann der Pilotbetrieb mit cronetwork an den ersten zwei von 23 Montagelinien. Die vollständige Aufrüstung erfolgte anschließend Schritt für Schritt. „An den Montagebändern assemblieren wir in Gruppenarbeit unsere Geräte aus mehreren Komponenten. cronetwork MES unterstützt uns hier bei der Erfassung und Verarbeitung wichtiger Prozessdaten. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür sind Drehmomentwerte, mit denen ein Messer am Rasenmäher befestigt wird. Einerseits kontrollieren wir schon am Arbeitsplatz die korrekte Assemblierung und andererseits sind wir gegenüber unseren Kunden jederzeit auskunftsfähig, was wichtige Fertigungsparameter betrifft“, beschreibt Ganster den Mehrwert der Prozessdatenerfassung.

Weitere Einsatzmöglichkeiten daraus und der damit verbundenen Einzelteilrückverfolgung sind im Laufe der Zeit entstanden. So werden heute beispielsweise bei Akkugeräten Seriennummern von Akku, Ladegerät und Maschine miteinander verheiratet. Das ermöglicht STIHL Tirol die volle Transparenz zu seinen Produkten aus den verschiedensten Blickwinkeln.

Fast schon selbstverständlich sind die klassischen Vorteile der cronetwork Maschinen- und Betriebsdatenerfassung. Die automatische Mengenzählung inklusive Rückmeldung an SAP® gibt dem Vorarbeiter und den Mitarbeitern an der Montagelinieden nötigen Weitblick für verschiedenste Optimierungsmaßnahmen. Das ‚Zwischenlagerwesen‘ innerhalb der Fertigung konnte dahingehend verbessert werden, dass die Bestände an den Linien heute möglichst niedrig gehalten werden können, jedoch das benötigte Material trotzdem jederzeit am richtigen Ort zur Verfügung steht.

 

Automatisierte Meldungen reduzieren Aufwand

Harald Ganster führt weiter aus: „Für uns war es auch wichtig, unsere Vorarbeiter weitgehend von der manuellen Terminal­bedienung zu entbinden und Zeit und Raum für ihre Kernaufgaben zu schaffen. Wenn heute zum Beispiel eine Störung an einer Linie auftritt, erkennt die Anlage dies und geht automatisch auf Störung. Diese Meldung musste früher manuell vom Vorarbeiter vorgenommen werden. Heute kann er sich in dieser Zeit schon um die Störgrundbehebung kümmern. Ähnliches trifft auf die Bemeldung von Folgeaufträgen zu. Sobald der aktuelle Auftrag beliefert ist, wird der Folgeauftrag automatisch bemeldet, die Linie stellt auf Rüsten um und wechselt erst wieder den Status, wenn das erste Gerät des Folgeauftrags verpackt ist. Der Mitarbeiter kümmert sich in dieser Zeit voll und ganz um seine Kernaufgaben wie Rüsten und Fortführen der Montage­arbeiten.“

 

Transparenz für Mitarbeiter und Management

Die neu gewonnene Transparenz durch Maschinen-, Betriebsdaten- und Prozessdatenerfassung wollte man bei STIHL Tirol allerdings nicht nur dem Management bereitstellen, sondern auch die Mitarbeiter am Shopfloor davon profitieren lassen. Als Informationsquelle dienen Bildschirme – sogenannte ANDON-Boards – an jeder Montagelinie. „Bestanden die Informationen früher aus einem Konglomerat aus sechs verschiedenen Quellen mit veralteten Daten, so können wir heute dank der cronetwork Portaltechnologie individuelle Dashboards generieren und Informationen gesammelt aus cronetwork MES nahezu in Echtzeit bereitstellen“, so Ganster, der noch weiter ausführt: „Dank Informationen zum Auftragsfortschritt, Folgeauftrag, stündlicher Ausbringung, Soll- und Ist-Mengen können sich unsere Mitarbeiter besser auf Rüstarbeiten und Materialbeschaffung vorbereiten, was unter anderem kürzere Rüstzeiten zur Folge hat. Zudem haben die Montagemitarbeiter auch ihre aktuelle Leistungskennzahl je Montagelinie im Auge. Diese ist einer der Einflussfaktoren für die Bonifikationsberechnung, die zu 100 % mit Daten aus cronetwork MES erfolgt. Folglich schauen die Mitarbeiter auch auf eine gute Ausbringung und Qualität.“ Das Management hat das Potenzial von cronetwork MES ohnehin längst verinnerlicht und nutzt es vor allem für Auswertungen und regelmäßige Reports über verschiedenste Zeithorizonte.

 

Qualitätsdatenerfassung im Produktionsprozess

Hinter der Marke STIHL verbergen sich seit jeher hochwertige Forst- und Gartengeräte – der Anspruch der Nutzer ist dementsprechend hoch. Eine umfangreiche Erfassung von Qualitätsdaten war also eine weitere Anforderung an cronetwork MES. „Der Abdeckungsgrad unserer Anforderungen durch den cronetwork Standard war schon sehr hoch. Im Bereich der Qualitätsdatenerfassung musste allerdings noch Arbeit in dessen Weiterentwicklung gesteckt werden. Wir selbst haben auch schon von Entwicklungen anderer Industrie Informatik Kunden profitiert, da diese in den Standard eingeflossen sind. Dieses GEBEN UND NEHMEN Prinzip der cronetwork-User-Community hat uns absolut überzeugt“, beschreibt Harald Ganster die Entscheidung, hier in die Entwicklung zu investieren.

Die Anlage und Abarbeitung der Prüfvorgaben ist heute zu 100 % in cronetwork MES integriert. Je Auftrag und Schicht wird per Zufallsprinzip ein Gerät entnommen und im STIHL internen ‚Produkt-Audit‘ geprüft. Funktionale, optische, sicherheitstechnische und weitere Faktoren werden dabei berücksichtigt und ergeben eine konzernweit einheitliche Qualitätskennzahl. Harald Ganster: „Höchste Qualität unserer Produkte ist ein wesentlicher Faktor für unseren Unternehmenserfolg. Das wollen wir auch in Zukunft sicherstellen.“

 

Fazit und Ausblick

Das Wachstum und die steigenden Anforderungen bei STIHL Tirol haben den Ruf nach einer starken und vor allem flexiblen MES-Lösung laut werden lassen. Mit Industrie Informatik hat man nun einen Partner, der schnell und flexibel auf die sich laufend ändernden Anforderungen reagieren kann. cronetwork Prozessdatenerfassung und Einzelteilrückverfolgung tragen auf vielfältige Weise zur Transparenz und Qualitätssicherung bei der STIHL Tirol GmbH bei. Zudem profitiert man in vollem Umfang von der Standard- und Releasephilosophie des österreichischen MES-Anbieters. Damit ist auch der Weg für die weitere Zusammenarbeit mit Industrie Informatik geebnet.

 

Bilder: © STIHL Tirol GmbH

Produkte:
Rasenmäher, Mähroboter, Aufsitzmäher, Garten-
Häcksler, Motorhacken, Rasenlüfter, Akku- und
Elektro-Produkte

Mitarbeiteranzahl:
ca. 600

cronetwork Module:
Betriebsdaten, Maschinendaten,
Personalzeit, Arbeitsplatzmonitor, PIDO,
OPC, SAP® Connector, Qlik View Connector

“Dank Informationen zum Auftragsfortschritt, Folgeauftrag, stündlicher Ausbringung, Soll- und Ist-Mengen können sich unsere Mitarbeiter besser auf Rüstarbeiten und Materialbeschaffung vorbereiten, was unter anderem kürzere Rüstzeiten zur Folge hat.”

 

DI (FH) Harald Ganster

Abteilungsreferent Shopfloor IT, STIHL Tirol GmbH